Win a Free Blogging Course!

~by Kel

This is the online blogging course I took several years ago. I was discussing it with a Swappie who asked about learning to blog recently and, coincidentally, they are offering a contest to promote the new, fully automated course design. I  just might have to take it again!

The great thing about the lessons is that you have a blog started with several posts and maybe even a few followers by the time you finish. This is a terrific opportunity to take the course for FREE! Just leave a comment here that explains, in 75 words or less, why you want to take the course. (To learn how to blog from scratch? To update your current blogging skills? Just because you’ve always wondered how blogging works?)

Entries will be accepted through Tuesday, February 15. The entrant whose comment best convinces judges that the course will be utilized and completed will be the winner. Judging will be done by a group of three Homeschooler’s Curriculum Swap members (who are prohibited from entering). Anyone may enter; you do not need to be a member of The Swap. The winner will be notified and posted here on Wednesday, February 16.

Here is a description from the developers of the course:

Blogging 101 is a fully automated 8-week online course that covers everything you need to know to plan, start, write, and build an audience for a brand new blog. The eight units of Blogging 101 (which can be completed in less than eight weeks, if you choose) include:

  1. Introduction to Blogging (all the basics for the beginning blogger)
  2. Laying Your Cards On The Table (blog titles, platforms, and start-up instructions)
  3. It’s All About Me (blogging safety, “About Me” pages, and blog design)
  4. Build That Content and Make It Snazzy (writing quality posts, commenting, and adding media)
  5. It’s The Little Things That Count (sidebars, widgets, categories, and static pages)
  6. Mi Blog es Su Blog – – Building Community (growing a readership, blog promotion, and blogrolls)
  7. Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained (more blog promotion strategies and monetizing your blog)
  8. Looking Back and Looking Forward (tips and strategies for continuing to grow your blog after the course)
4 Responses

  1. I would LOVE to take this course! I started blogging out of boredom (hubby was in Seminary) and needed something to focus on outside the homeschooling realm.

    Now, I feel stuck. I have been on a blogging sabbatical for about 8 months. Though I have much in my life to write about, I have little desire to put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. The content is there but not the motivation.

    Though my niche is small, I think (hopefully) I have something to offer. Perhaps a course in blogging will get me excited again!

  2. I would love to win this prize! I just started, today, to learn the fundamentals of blogging. My blog will be called happiermom.com and will be especially geared toward helping Moms become emotionally healthier. I will write articles on topics such as Seasonal Affective Disorder, how exercise improves mood, etc. There will also be a link to a new website I’ll design that offers secure internet (via webcam) Christian counseling for those with that need.

  3. I would love to win this prize! I started on blogging homeschool blogger and just never posted much. Then, while preparing to move from the urban desert Southwest to rural New England, I started blogging on blogger. I thought with a more general platform, I’d blog more. And I was until my last pregnancy when blogging fell by the wayside. But I’m trying to get back and would love to learn about how to improve my blog.

  4. I’ve maintained a blog for several years but with no focus, no regular following and no income. I’ve sporatically written (usually photo illustrated) posts when I thought I had something interesting / useful / helpful to say. But that means that, while I get visitors in search of specific info, I no longer have any regular followers. The more I’ve thought about this the more I’d love to learn how to blog “right”…whatever that means.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

